Nevada CCW (Concealed Carry)

 

Per Washoe County Sheriff's Office:
If applying in Washoe County, "All applicants must
Go to washoesheriff.com
Submit their application online
then check their email for the link to make an appointment online."

Washoe County Sheriff's Office - CCW Page

Our conceal carry class is open to Nevada residents and non-residents and is held in our centrally located 24,000 sq ft facility, minutes from the city center. You’ll find comfort in our indoor, climate-controlled facility where you’ll complete all classroom and shooting qualifications.

We offer classes for first time and renewal applications, for residents and non-residents.

Instructors at Reno Guns & Range who teach the Nevada Conceal Carry Permit class are highly trained, have extensive experience and meet all the requirements of the Nevada Sheriff's and Chief's Association.  Many have law enforcement and/or military experience.

All classroom and shooting qualifications are done in our comfortable, climate-controlled facility.

 

NEVADA CCW RENEWAL

Renewal applicants only

All Nevada CCW permits offer reciprocity with other states. 
Dates & Registration

Cost: $95.00/person
Duration: 6 Hours with breaks
Class Size: Maximum 24 students
Prerequisites: Nevada CCW Permit Holder 
Description: Classroom and required shooting qualification are done in our climate controlled facility. You will experience our indoor shooting lanes (equipped with one of the most advanced targetry systems available).

*Renewal applications MUST be submitted between 120 days prior to current expiration date through 120 days after current expiration date.

 

NEVADA CCW

First time OR Renewal applicants

All Nevada CCW permits offer reciprocity with other states.

1 day (9A-6P) Dates & Registration   2 day (Consecutive 4 hr days) Dates & Registration

Cost: $120.00/person
Class Size: Maximum 24
Recommended: Previous Firearm Experience (Pre-class shooting instruction is available)
Description: Classroom and required shooting qualification are done in our climate controlled facility. You will experience our indoor shooting lanes (equipped with one of the most advanced targetry systems available).

All Nevada CCW permits offer reciprocity with other states.

Class Waitlist:

To be added to a class waitlist, please call or email with your name, phone number, preferred date(s) and if you are already scheduled for a class.

Please also note, due to current events, last minute and no shows do happen. In these cases, we are able to fill those openings with people who check in the day of class (prior to the start of the class) and who are prepared to attend the class.

What to bring to class: (For all CCW classes) 

  • Valid Photo Identification (The name on our permit must match. We use the name from your class registration. Please let us know of any changes needed.)
  • Handgun (available for rent, but ownership is highly recommended)
  • 50 rounds of ammunition
  • Eye & Ear Protection (available for rent, but ownership is highly recommended)
  • Optional: Snack, Lunch, Beverage

We provide the B27 target used for the qualification.

After completing our class:

Upon successfully completing our class, you will receive a Certificate of Completion that you must take to your county Sheriff (if a Nevada resident) or the Washoe County Sheriff's Office* if you are a non-resident.

Our Certificate of Completion can be submitted to the Sheriff up to one year from the date the class was taken. The CCW application fee will be collected by the Sheriff at time of application.

Once you receive your permit, you are eligible to carry any handgun concealed until the expiration date as noted on your permit. (Permits are good for 5 years.)

  • In Nevada, it is a Category C Felony to conceal a firearm without a permit: NRS 202.350, NRS 193.130, NRS 202.253
  • All Nevada Revised Statutes (NRS) supersede any information on this website.
  • Nevada Concealed Carry permits are recognized in various other states.
  • Renewals: "If you fail to renew your permit within 120 days of the expiration of the permit, you will have to re-apply as a new applicant"
    Nevada allows a 120 day grace period after the expiration of your permit. If your appointment with the Sheriff's Office is beyond 120 days after your expiration, you would need to take the full CCW class.
  • Class Waitlist: To be added to a class waitlist, please call or email with your name, phone number, preferred date(s) and if you are already scheduled for a class.
    Please also note, due to current events, last minute and no shows do happen. In these cases, we are able to fill those openings with people who check in the day of class (prior to the start of the class) and who are prepared to attend the class.

USCCA’s Concealed Carry Reciprocity Map

 

 

Check USCCA’s free, interactive concealed carry permit reciprocity map

1. Learn about every state’s concealed carry and gun laws.

2. Learn which states offer you reciprocity
by selecting your state of residence, then the states you have a permit for

Additional Information

First time (Initial) applicant:

Residents and non-residents are required to take a class (minimum 8 hour of class-time) and successfully pass both a written test and shooting qualification.

As a bonus, all students participating in this class will experience our Digital Simulator.

This class also satisfies the renewal class requirements and is offered as a 1-day or a 2-day option.


Renewal applicant:

Residents and non-residents are required to take a class (minimum 4 hour of class-time) and successfully pass a shooting qualification.

The Nevada CCW permit is valid for 5 years. Once your permit expires, you cannot carry concealed until you receive your new permit.

There is no grace period. You can apply as a renewal as long as your permit expiration date is within 120 days of applying for your renewal permit.

 

Application submission to Sheriff:

Issuance of Concealed Weapons Permits is regulated by Nevada Revised Statute 202.3653

Nevada does not accept certificates from online training providers. Online classes are not valid for this purpose.  Only in class training is acceptable and is required for both the full and renewal certifications. 

The Nevada Application for Concealed Firearm Permit is available online (to be signed at time of application) or at the Sheriff’s Office at time of application. The applicant is required to appear in person. Fingerprints, photo and the permit application fee will be taken at the Sheriff's office at time of application. They will also collect the Certificate of Completion that you received from us after successfully completing our class.

Nevada CCW Qualification:

  • Pre-class shooting instruction is available.  Please email Training@RenoGuns.com or call (775) 826-2626
  • Should a student fail to meet the minimum shooting requirement, the student can arrange to retake the shooting test with his instructor up to 14 days from the date of the initial class. Instruction is available upon request.
  • Applicant must be 21 or older at time of application. Our class can be taken up to 1 year prior turning 21.
  • To qualify for a military exclusion to the 21 years of age requirement, the applicant must be at least 18 years of age and be able to produce an active military ID card.  Also, if their driver’s license is a non-Nevada driver’s license, they must be able to produce a LES (Leave and Earnings Statement) from their military branch showing their claimed local address.
  • The shooting qualification includes: (30 rounds, Passing requires a minimum of 70% at the following distances)

For 6 shot or greater capacity firearm:

Distance#Rounds
3 Yards6 Rounds
5 Yards12 Rounds
7 Yards12 Rounds

For 5-shot or under capacity firearm:

Distance#Rounds
3 Yards5 Rounds
5 Yards10 Rounds
7 Yards10 Rounds
  • Medical marijuana use as well as recreational marijuana use still prohibits a person from possessing or applying for a CCW.   A medical marijuana card holder cannot apply for a CCW until one year after the expiration date of their MMR card.  Marijuana is still federally illegal either with a card or with recreational use, so any use in relation to guns is illegal.
  • You cannot apply for a CCW permit until 5 years after a DUI conviction date.
  • The minimum class time requirement is 8 hours for a new permit, 4 hours for a renewal permit.  These times are a MINIMUM and are set forth by the NVSCA.
  • The Nevada concealed carry permit is a honored in about 30 states, although this can change without notice.  When travelling outside of Nevada, contact the proper authorities to verify acceptance of your Nevada permit.
  • Our 8 hour CCW permit class allows students to apply for a Florida and Oregon concealed carry permit. Details available to students during class session.
  • Cancellation Policy

Our customers say it all … What sets us apart is our facility, dedication and caliber of our instructors.

“The class was excellent and the two instructors couldn't have been more conscientious and thorough. They covered material that I missed on my initial course 5 years ago and answered several questions that I had…. All of my concerns were answered and the class was truly excellent.
I would recommend your course to anyone!”
Bruce C

“Just wanted to drop you a line to let you know how much we really appreciate Reno Guns and Range. Staff is really superb - range, sales, training - all top notch people that are eager to please. We both just received our CCW training - really superb class.
Thanks for developing this great facility in Reno.”
David B